Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Here’s two of my recent bindings, Blake’s Prophetic Books in two rather large volumes.

Though it’s not apparent, the tooling is in (dark) purple.
I used ink tooling (here are a couple of examples: one and two), a technique I’ve invented based on carbon tooling, the idea being for purple to contrast the vibrant green.

However in retrospect I believe I could have done it differently (regular blind tooling perhaps): the color is barely noticeable and also doesn’t take advantage of the lovely gradient effect that you can achieve by using two different colors.
Overall though I’m pleased with the end result.

The lovely marbled paper I used is from Papiers Prina.
Recently bought a few marbled papers from her and I must say I’m in love with them: vibrant colors in balanced combinations and the patterns are delicate and beautiful.

Daniela is also very helpful and a pleasure to work with. For what is more she was able to accommodate a custom request I had (needed one of her designs in different colors) in a fairly short time!
Make sure to add her to your marbled paper supplier list (site/online shop and Instagram account) – can’t recommend her enough!

Last but not least I’ve used my Brass Band Nippers, Versatile Typeholder and Dot set to make these bindings. If you’d like to add them to your tool collection you can contact me directly (mail at the top right column) or head over to my Etsy shop.