Tags

, , , , , , ,

According to tradition the Yellow Emperor (or Huang Ti) ruled China some 100 years between 2600 and 2500. He is considered the initiator of the Chinese civilization and an impressive list of technological, scientific and spiritual achievements is attributed to him. The book I’m sharing with you today is about the practice of Acupuncture, a traditional Chinese medicine system which uses needles, in the form of a dialogue between the Yellow Emperor and his health minister.

The Yellow Emperor1Βιβλιοδεσία τύπου περαστό. Όλο δέρμα με κεφαλάρια ραμμένα στο χέρι με μεταξωτή κλωστή. Στο εσωτερικό τοποθετήθηκαν δερμάτινα λούκια και χειροποίητο διακοσμητικό χαρτί (μαρμαρόκολλα). Ο τίτλος σχεδιάστηκε στο χέρι με πένα ενώ για την πλακέτα χρησιμοποιήθηκαν τεχνικές inlaying και onlaying (ένθετα και επίθετα κομμάτια). Χρύσωμα στο χέρι.

Label - The Yellow EmperorFrom the beginning I knew this had to be a visually frugal binding to be in accord with the book’s philosophy. I also sew the headbands with silk thread to add some eastern spice to it. The label was hand-dyed and the ideograms where also hand-painted using a dip pen. The black margins are onlays and the label itself was inlayed.

I tried some Spanish leather which -for the most part- was pleasant to work with. It was very affordable, the color is lively with the veins still evident (I think they add some nice detail), it was thin and it pared well. What I didn’t like was the “stiffness” of the surface compared to its soft underside which proved a bit of a problem in turns-ins and corners. However, and to my surprise, the inner joints function smoothly even though I couldn’t pare them to the thickness I usually work with. Overall I’d give it a thumbs up.

The Yellow Emperor2Silk headbands - The yellow Emperor