Tags

, , , , , , , ,

And now for something (not completely but quite) different…
That’s concerning the content of my recent binding which was a horror mystery by Graham Masterton, Terrible beauty. It was an interesting task being the first time I was asked to bind a book of this sort so I knew it had to be something special.

Τρομερή ομρφιά του Graham Masterton. Καλλιτεχνική βιβλιοδεσία με δέρμα βαμμένο στο χέρι και δερμάτινα κεφαλάρια.

The binding was to be a gift and the request was to make something dark and eerie. I rushed a bit through the book but the story overview at the back had everything I needed; eleven female bodies are found in a mass grave and an inspector is dispatched to shed light. I think you can see how this design got to be. Although the initial concept was simpler as I got down in making it details kept adding themselves and I liked where this was going. Each of the skeletons has a small “story” behind its posture while the maze lines that expand outwards symbolize the blood of the crime and the search of clues by the detective.

When I planned for the title at the spine I was not satisfied with how it showed on the tracing paper, it was somewhat dull, so I came up with this result which I haven’t seen so far in a binding; doing the title in a circle. It looks vivid,blends with the rest of decoration better than the standard linear pattern and it gives more life to the book spine.

I proclaim it “Round title form”!
(And don’t you dare show me a similar title in some old binding!)