Tags

, , , , ,

Hello  everyone and welcome to my blog for Bookbinding and other creations. This is something I wanted to start from around summer but couldn’t really find the time to organize it. Hope you will enjoy your visit!

I chose to begin with one of my favorite books “Crime and Punishment “  by Fyodor  Dostoyevsky. This is a binding that its forwarding was completed during my apprenticeship but the finishing was done some time later.

I wanted something to convey the feeling of the book, the  chaotic order  inside Raskolnikov’s head, the search of clues from  the police inspector, the crime itself etc. So I came up with this design. Of course the type is in greek but you get the picture. The decoration-from setting up the idea  to the very finishing-was a vast time consumer since every single letter was inked, traced, blind tooled and finally gilt separately. That’s an amount of almost  1500 repeated actions (and hell of a neck pain!).

There’s a small extra to it-several words can be traced “hidden” throughout the  covers, like “fear” or “blood”. Other than that it’s plain hand-dyed goatskin with leather headbands. More posts to come soon.

Καλλιτεχνική βιβλιοδεσία τύπου Περαστό, με δέρμα βαμμένο στο χέρι. «Έγκλημα και Τιμωρία» σε μετάφραση- φυσικά!- Παπαδιαμάντη. Σύγχρονη έκδοση.

leather binding - crime and punishment